Most Anticipated Films of 2013

As it being a brand new year, we can start looking forward to some of the films 2013 will be offering us.  From superheros to sci-fi, it will definitely be an exciting year for movies.  Let’s take a look at a few that I’m specifically anticipating this year.

Star Trek Into Darkness (May 17th)
There’s obviously not many reasons I need to give as to wise the next installment in the rebooted Star Trek franchise is on the list for most anticipated films of 2013.  With the entirety of the cast returning and J.J. Abrams returning as the director, there’s must to be excited for.  And then add the Benedict Cumberbatch casting, where the mysteriousness of his exact character still looming provides even more fuel to the Star Trek fire.  Like Nolan, Abrams works under extreme secrecy, which I personally adore because it provides more for the viewing experience.  Star Trek Into Darkness is sure fire hit, and we’ll all be standing in line for the midnight premiere.

Evil Dead (April 12th)
Sam Raimi, one of the masters of horror (before his Spider-Man days) is returning to his cult classic, remaking his Evil Dead franchise that was once adored by fanboys and nerds alike.  The remake for Evil Dead has taken a long road, but it finally be released this April, providing no short of blood and gore.  If you’ve seen the two red band trailers, you know what we’re in for.  I’ve personally not seen any of the Evil Deads before, but I can get a sense of what the context of the films were like from just the trailer.  It truly seems like a horrific ride, and being fan of the horror genre, it’ll definitely be an exciting time.

World War Z (June 21st)
This film has had an absolute nightmare of a production phase.  Rewrites, nine week reshoots, budget crisis.  You name it.  But that’s the thing about a film, and a great film at that.  If you can hide those pains and issues and provide some great entertainment, all is good in the industry with your film.  I’m not promising anything like that with World War Z, but having dived into the book a little bit and watching the first trailer, I’m already hooked.  It’s a new concept to the zombie genre (which is getting a little tiring, no?) as we’re given this huge epic scale in a global perspective.  The set pieces will be enormous, and if you’re a fan of zombie apocalypses then you should be marking June 21st on your calendar.

Monsters University (June 21st)
If worldwide zombie pandemonium is not your thing, you’ll have another major offering during the same weekend as the Pixar hit Monsters Inc. sequel, Monsters University, will finally be released.  Now I’m not a huge fan of Pixar going back to their fantastic films (except Cars) and given them a second run, mainly because it seems cheap and unoriginal.  And honestly, the only film I felt Pixar could do a sequel for is The Incredibles, but I’m willing to give Monsters University a shot.  It’s a great concept and provides plenty of opportunistic laughs and situations.  Though the heart of Monsters. Inc was boo and that relationship, I’m hoping their story is as great and loving as the first.

Man of Steel (June 14th)
The Zack Snyder-Christopher Nolan tandem works for me.  Yes, I had my issues and concerns with Snyder, especially his last few films, but what we’ve seen so far looks innovative and original.  Add on the Nolan universe, I’m ready to go on this new Superman journey that we’ve never seen before.  It’s an all-star cast surrounded on the life and times of Clark Kent.  It can’t be an easy life having super powers and feeling this grand responsibility to the world, but if it’s captured in the right way with some few great action sequences, it has the possibility of going down as one of the greats.

Gravity (October 4th)
I actually have no idea if this is an actually still from the film, but I’m going with it.  All I can tell you about the film is that it involves Sandra Bullock, a woman who is stuck alone in space on a spacecraft after a tragic accident that includes George Clooney.  It also has director Alfonso Cuaron, one of my favorite directors, and also includes a 17 minute scene with no cuts or edits.  Yep, it makes the list.

Kick-Ass 2 (June 28th)
Kick-Ass is hands down one of my favorite “superhero” films, relying on a great premise, smart script and one of the coolest characters ever created by man.  Now the fun continues as the plot thickens into two rivaling groups trying to kill each other in the mercy of their own hands.  Add Jim Carrey to the cast, and we’ve got something to look forward to.  Unfortunately Matthew Vaughn is not returning on the director’s chair (only as producer), but I still have faith that they’ll continue the greatness of what was Kick-Ass.

Anchorman: The Legend Continues (December 20th)
Who isn’t looking forward to this?  One of the most quotable films of all time, the sequel to Anchorman will definitely be highly anticipated.  The only disappointment I have is this late release in the year, but it shall suffice considering not only is the entire team of Channel 4 news returning, but it will also include my favorite SNL actress Kristen Wiig.  You put her with the comedic genius of Will Ferrell, Paul Rudd and Steve Carrell and you have a monster in your hands.  It’s not like we haven’t seen great original comedic films turn into busts of a sequel, but the fact that they’ve taking their time and effort in this second installment gives me hope that they want to do this right.  And let’s hope that they do.

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (November 22nd)
I was a big fan of The Hunger Games.  Granted, I’m a big fan of Jennifer Lawrence, but I loved the film.  So it would make sense to anticipate the sequel.  Now I haven’t read Catching Fire yet, but I’ve heard mixed feelings about it, which means it will be just as polarizing and criticized.  That’s more my kind of film.  I’m hoping that they take advantage of the world they’ve already established, pushing the boundaries even further.  Gary Ross is not returning as director, so there is some concerns going into this second film.  Though I’m most skeptical about this film more than any other on this list, I can’t deny my excitement over Catching Fire.

Iron Man 3 (May 3rd)
I don’t think I need much explanation here but we have Shane Black, Iron Man, Guy Pearce, Ben Kingsley as Mandarin, and some pretty amazing set pieces in place.  Who hasn’t been wanting more Marvel superheros after The Avengers?  I hope Iron Man 3 continues the genius of what the entire Phase One plan has been, and that Phase Two will start off with a bang.  Not many concerns, but I just hope they avoid Iron Man 2 at all costs.

Leave a Reply

